Le Lyonnais Restaurant

Ethan and I stumbled across a hidden gem of a restaurant while taking the back way home a few weeks ago. We were driving through Acton, Massachusetts when I noticed a cute white Colonial style house with a sign out front that read: Le Lyonnais Restaurant. “That looks like a perfect place!” I exclaimed, and Ethan dutifully turned the car around. I’m so glad we did, as we found a place that had a cozy atmosphere, attentive service, and really great food.IMG_1820Right on the side of 2A in Acton, Le Lyonnais is owned by Chef Gerard Lebrosse, who is indeed from Lyon, France. All of his food is cooked to order, and he uses classical French cooking techniques that he learned in France. The restaurant itself is so quaint, with four separate dining rooms, each in different rooms of the colonial house. We were seated in a bright room with a lovely view of the river in the backyard. Our server was named Gail, and she was so friendly and attentive, we really appreciated her service. There were fresh poppies on each table, and real candles burning which made for a nice atmosphere. I even liked the bathroom decor- framed vintage prints on an even more vintage brocade wallpaper.


img_1838img_1850And as for the food… it was great! Ethan said his French Onion Soup was the best he’s ever had. I tried the house country pate as my appetizer. Served over a green salad with homemade dressing, it was excellent! Our entrees did not disappoint either. Ethan tried the evening’s special: seafood Paella, which was filled with tender fish, shrimp, scallops, and even lobster. I had the Brook Trout Almandine. It was buttery and delicious, served with rice and many vegetable sides! We both had plenty left over to take home all well- the portions were a very good size. I liked that they offered a fixed price menu, so I could get an appetizer, an entree and a dessert for a better deal than if I had to order all of those separately. I had chocolate mousse for dessert and Ethan had a caramel flan- both were scrumptious. When we were leaving, Chef Gerard came out to meet us, which was very sweet. We complimented him highly of course, he is a great chef!

 

img_1844Going out for a nice dinner is definitely a treat for us. Because I am more confident in my own kitchen and beginning to actually enjoy cooking at home, if I pay a lot extra to have my meal cooked for me, it’s got to be good. Really good. No more chain restaurants for me, if I can help it! Going out to eat is also just too expensive. When saving for Chile, it was one of the things we made an effort to cut out, and since we returned, we’ve still kept going out to eat to a minimum. We go maybe once a month, if that. Which is a shame, because I do love it so much (not having to do dishes might be the best part! haha). So anyways, the point I’m trying to make is that if we spend the money to go out to eat, not only does the food have to be great, but I’m looking for atmosphere and nice service too. In all of these facets, Le Lyonnais did not disappoint. If you’re looking for a special place to get a really nice meal, or if you really love French food, give Le Lyonnais a try.img_1856

Leave a Reply

